The UK Government has announced plans to rebuild five major hospitals by 2030 as part of the New Hospital Programme.

An investment of more than £20bn ($24.67bn) has also been confirmed for new hospital infrastructure, aimed at providing safe and modern facilities for patients and staff.

The hospitals to be rebuilt include Airedale in West Yorkshire, Hinchingbrooke in Cambridgeshire, Queen Elizabeth King’s Lynn in Norfolk, Mid Cheshire Leighton in Cheshire, and Frimley Park in Surrey.

These hospitals were built using reinforced autoclaved aerated concrete (RAAC), which has a limited lifespan and poses risks to patients and staff.

Two other affected hospitals, West Suffolk Hospital and James Paget Hospital, have already been included in the New Hospital Programme.

In addition, the government aims to deliver all 40 new hospitals by 2030, including three mental health hospitals, which will be funded separately.

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.

New Hospital Programme senior responsible owner Natalie Forrest said: “We’re continuing to build healthcare infrastructure that improves patient care, including modern designs, creating single rooms ensuring maximum natural light, and access to outdoor spaces.

“This new design will reduce the workload of NHS staff through digital solutions, well-designed flow, and designated areas for staff recuperation.”

The New Hospital Programme will work closely with new and existing schemes to ensure timely delivery.

In addition, a rolling programme of capital investment will be established to continue building new hospitals beyond 2030, with a commitment to upgrade NHS facilities across the country.

The government has allocated significant funds of £685m ($844.96m) to affected trusts to address RAAC-related issues.